Mark Frutkin

Mark Frutkin has published nineteen books of fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and essays. His most recent book is a collection of short and medium-length essays on a variety of subjects titled The Walled Garden (Guernica Editions). His most recent novel, The Artist and the Assassin (Porcupine’s Quill, 2021), is based on the life of Italian artist, Caravaggio. His recent collection of poetry, Hermit Thrush (Quattro), was shortlisted for the Ottawa Book Award. His novel, Fabrizio’s Return (Knopf Canada), won the Trillium Award and the Sunburst Prize, and was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Prize (Canada/Caribbean region). A French translation of Fabrizio’s Return was published by Alto Editions of Quebec City in 2017 (under the title Le Saint Patron des Merveilles). His novel, Atmospheres Apollinaire, was a finalist for the Governor General’s Award for fiction.
He has taught creative writing at Carleton University and University of Ottawa, and at various grade schools. He has received numerous grants from the Canada Council and the Ontario Arts Council, and the City of Ottawa. His work has been translated and published in French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Polish, Turkish, Hindi and Korean, and is soon to appear in Italian. His coffee table book, Where Angels Come to Earth: an evocation of the Italian piazza (Longbridge, Montreal), is a work of lyrical text and photography (with Toronto photographer, Vincenzo Pietropaolo.)

BA 1969

TitleAuthorRoleYear Of Publication
Iron Mountain2001
Acts of Light1991
The Alchemy of Clouds1985
The growing dawn: Documentary fiction1983
Atmospheres Apollinaire1988
Invading Tibet1991
In the Time of the Angry Queen1993
The Lion of Venice1997
Slow Lightning2001
Erratic North: A Vietnam Draft Resister’s Life in the Canadian Bush2008
Fabrizio’s Return2006
Walking Backwards: Grand Tours, Minor Visitations, Miraculous Journeys, and a Few Good Meals 2011
Colourless Green Ideas Sleep Furiously2012
A Message for the Emperor2012
Hermit Thrush2015
The Rising Tide2018
WHERE ANGELS COME TO EARTH: An evocation of the Italian piazza2019
The Artist and the Assassin2021
The Walled Garden2023
Back To Top